Pinterest Pixel
View Other Topics

Tarot Simplified

Jul 27, 2020

Image: Original Rider tarot deck - U.S. Games Systems, Inc.

The next time you purchase a reading from one of Starz Psychics talented Advisors, this little cheat sheet might help you to understand better what your reading is should the medium be Tarot

The Tarot deck is divided into four suits then into the Major Arcana (Court Cards) or single picture cards with specific meanings and Minor Arcana with numbered cards with scenes on them.

Arcana is the plural form of the Latin word “arcanum”, which means a deep mystery, a specialized knowledge that is not readily accessible to the uninitiated.

This brief description of some of the characteristics of the Tarot deck should give you an idea of where your Reader’s thoughts come from and what inspired them.

The Major Arcana

· 22 cards numbered from 0 to 21.
· The cards describe the journey of the Seeker (Fool) from innocence to initiation.
· Each card represents a stage of that journey.

The Seeker’s task is to integrate these stages as experiences in order to achieve spiritual wholeness.

The Court Cards

The Court cards can represent actual people, or they can represent certain qualities or characteristics suggested by their suit. If you should draw a Court card during a meditation, concentrate on the characteristics of the card as indicated by its suit. Look closely at every detail of the card – colors, hidden objects, etc. Find the “story” in the picture. The “story” will change from meditation to meditation. Your message will be in the story.

Pages are children, youth. We tend to see them as boys, but they can represent either boys or girls. Pages bring news (or rumor). Pages are students. Pages can remind us that sometimes we need to get in touch with our “inner child”, or to re-embrace the simple joys of innocence.

Knights represent males (usually unmarried) in their prime. Knights bring messages. They perform actions. These actions are performed in a manner consistent with the nature of their suit. A Knight can indicate a suitor (if that would make sense within the context of the reading). Each Knight represents the qualities of his particular suit. In a reading, a Knight can represent a person or the character ideals represented by the individual card.

Queens are mature (adult) females who represent the qualities of their particular suit. In a reading, a Queen can represent a person or the character ideals represented by the individual card.

Kings are mature (adult) males who represent the qualities of their particular suit. In a reading, a King can represent a person or the character ideals represented by the individual card.

The Suit of Cups

Associations: Element = Water, Nature = Affectionate, Emotional”

Concerns regarding matters of the heart, romance, sentimentality, emotional attachments, family, love, friendship, happiness, connections, moods and feelings.

The Suit of Wands

Associations: Element = Fire, Nature = Active, Passionate”

Concerns regarding travel, movement, messages, energy, commerce, ambition, competition, enthusiasm, initiative, determination, impulsivity, new ideas, inspiration and creativity.

The Suit of Swords

Associations: Element = Air, Nature = Mental, Intellectual”

Concerns regarding change, force, conflict, difficulties, pain, strife, logic, mentality, courage, power or lack of power, violence, anger, duality (swords “cut both ways”).

The Suit of Pentacles or Coins

Associations: Element = Earth, Nature = Materialistic, “Practical”

Concerns regarding business, vocation, finances, practical matters, resources, money, rewards, prosperity or want, property and material possessions.

The Minor Arcana

The Numbered Cards

Aces point to new beginnings. They signal potential. The suit gives us a clue as to exactly what is the nature of that potential. Each Ace shows a hand coming out of the air; therefore, we can say that Aces “hand” us something – a gift, an opportunity. Aces always represent positive forces at play, although the Ace of Swords (duality – “swords cut both ways”) suggests possible difficulties, disappointment, or violence, conditions which are inherent in the very nature of swords.

Twos suggest duality, an “either-or” situation. Twos bring opposites together in an attempt to blend opposing forces. Twos represent a choice, a dichotomy, or a decision to be made.

Threes have to do with trust, expectation, bonding, commitment, and loyalty, either positively or negatively.

Fours indicate stability, foundation, and the safety and security of staying the course.

Fives are unstable, restless, tricky and unpredictable. All Fives represent situations in transition.

Sixes suggest regrouping, reorganizing, reflection (looking back), redirection, taking stock.

All Sevens contain a message, a promise, and a mystery. Sevens are the “tipping point”, or the mid-point of each suit. Sevens tell us that we’re over the hump, and we’ll get “there” (whatever “there” represents) if we can just stay the course, but the final outcome is still a mystery.

Eights suggest moving beyond boundaries and transcending limitations; pushing through to the goal.

Nines represent culmination, climax, completion of action. If you look at the 9 and 10 of each suit together, you can see how one card leads into or proceeds from the other.

Tens take the theme of their respective suits to their ultimate conclusion, or to their unbridled extreme. The 10 of Cups is the highest achievement of the highest happiness; 10 of Coins is the ultimate of material success. The 10 of Wands depicts the ultimate challenge – what happens when we take the promise contained in the Ace of Wands to its extreme. Likewise, the 10 of Swords depicts the logical conclusion of the ultimate danger.

Share this article with friends!